Jane Findlater and Mary Findlater ~ Writers

Jane Findlater & Mary Findlater: “Jane Findlater was born at Lochearnhead, Perthshire, on 4 November 1866. She and her sister were educated together at home and had a close relationship which would even extend to the co-writing of several books. Their father died in 1886, and the family moved to Prestonpans, East Lothian, but following the success of Jane’s first novel, “The Green Graves of Balgowrie” (1896), she was able to support the family, with successive homes in Devon, London, Rye and finally Comrie in Perthshire, where she died on 20 May 1946.Mary Findlater was born at Lochearnhead, Perthshire, on 26 March 1865. Though she wrote novels and poetry in her own right she is remembered for the novels she co-wrote with her sister, with whom she lived until Jane’s death in 1946. Mary remained at their last home in Comrie, Perthshire until her own death on 22 November 1963. Jane Findlater’s best-known novel, “The Green Graves of Balgowrie”, has an 18th-century setting, and is based on her own family’s history. Of the novels written with her sister, perhaps the best is “Crossriggs” (1908), a light-hearted romance of upper-class manners. They followed it with other similar novels, set in the Victorian world, which were highly popular in their day. Their taste for collaboration also resulted in two long novels written with Charlotte Stewart (under the pseudonym “Allan McAulay”) and Kate Douglas Wiggin. Based on notes by Andrew Crumley.” And sourced from www.findlater.org.uk/

The Findlater Sisters by Eileen McKenzie is a further source of information about these two writers.

Books by Mary Findlater:

1895. Sons & Sonnets.
1897. Over the Hills.
1899. Betty Musgrave.
1901. A Narrow Way.
1903. The Rose of Joy.
1907. A Blind Bird’s Nest.
1914. Tents of a Night.

Books by Jane Findlater:

1896. The Green Graves of Balgowrie.
1897. A Daughter of Strife.
1899. Rachel.
1902. The Story of a Mother.
1904. Stones from a Glass House.
1905. All that Happened in a Week.
1906. The Ladder to the Stars.
1912. Seven Scots Stories.
1921. A Green Grass Widow and other Stories.

Books written together:

1901. Tales that are Told.
1908. Crossriggs.
1911. Penny Moneypenny.
1916. Seen and Heard Before and After 1914.
1916. Content With Flies.
1923. Beneath the Visiting Moon

Books written Kate Douglas Wiggins and Allan McAulay:

1904. The Affair at the Inn.
1911. Robinetta.